Tags

,

Hello

I have decided to move over to wordpress, after a few years on Blogger, it was starting to get a bit clunky with a mixture of my journalism portfolio and recently some more thoughts on living life with Jesus. However I lost the momentum on there after university graduation and life took over me. Alas, I have decided to set up  a new blog with a specific Christian thought in mind and then keep my professional journalism portfolio, well currently in the back of my wardrobe.

The reason for this blog is actually pretty self-seeking becuase I know I need an outlay for my thoughts, prayers and vision for the Church. It is self seeking becuase I am a writer, it is self-seeking becuase i can when I blog with a cuppa tea, it calms me down and helps me look at the bigger picture of life and Jesus, the Lion and the Lamb. Maybe that is not self-seeking but sometimes gazing on Christ can feel self-indulgent because it is good for me, like eating dark chocolate but much better. Then again you may not know why I am relating chocolate to Jesus, but you will find out later.

However, this blog is called ‘The sunshine island’ becuase I live on the Isle of Wight, which claims to be the sunniest place to live in the UK and there are many days on the beach or on the ferry in the morning, where I watch the sunrise or set that reminds me of this verse; “From the rising of the sun to its setting, the name of the Lord is to be praised.” – Psalm 113;3

Many people ask me if i feel lonely or cut off by living on an Island and it does have that effect on you but equally that mirrors a bigger picture of modern day life. We all have different ideas, plans, identities, priorities in life that makes us different from each other. We are living in a highly individualistic society where it is easy to push people away and create your own little ‘island’. However, life in a church community is not like this and I am convinced that living here ( on the Isle of Wight) has communal gospel benefits which I hope to share with you in the future.

I have been richly and deeply encouraged by some Christian bloggers out there some of whom are listed here and many others. I am not sure if this will be anywhere up to any sort of standard so feedback and comments are warmly welcome.

Thanks …B

P.s I am dyslexic so please be kind over spelling/grammar mistakes.

